BREAKING! NFF drops Osimhen, Dennis, Shehu from AFCON squad

NFF drops Osimhen, Dennis, Shehu from AFCON squad

The Nigerian Football Federation, NFF, today dropped Napoli striker Victor Osimhen from Super Eagles squad for African Cup of Nations. Also excused were Watford forward Emmanuel Dennis and Cyprus-based Abdullahi Shehu.

Osimhen, nursing a face injury had declared himself fit to participate in the competition scheduled to begin on January 9 in Cameroon and was included in the 28-man Super Eagles list last Saturday.

However, NFF has dropped Osimhen after his club claimed he had tested positive for COVID-19, replacing him with Henry Onyekuru.

“Lively forward Victor Osimhen’s positive test to the coronavirus pandemic a couple of days ago and injury to the versatile Abdullahi Shehu have constrained changes to Nigeria’s final 28-man list for the 33rd Africa Cup of Nations starting in Cameroon next weekend.

“Osimhen’s absence paves way for Greece-based Henry Onyekuru who was also at the last finals in Egypt. In-form rapid raider Emmanuel Dennis, whose English Premiership club is baring fangs, has been excused to provide room for Czech Republic –based forward Peter Olayinka,” the NFF said in statement.

Nigeria will play against Egypt, Guinea-Bissau and Sudan in the Group D group stage game. Nigerian Super Eagles will play their first game against Egypt on January 11.

Join Our Telegram Channel

See the new Super Eagles squad for AFCON

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); John Noble (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Tyrone Ebuehi (Venezia FC, Italy); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Olisa Ndah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa)

Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Galsgow Rangers, Scotland); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Nwakali (SD Huesca, Spain)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Olympiacos FC, Greece); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin, Germany); Odion Jude Ighalo (Al-Shabab Riyadh, Saudi Arabia); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Peter Olayinka (SK Slavia Praha, Czech Republic).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here